noobbluesky.blogg.se

Most reliable external hard drives 2015
Most reliable external hard drives 2015






most reliable external hard drives 2015

most reliable external hard drives 2015

Hitachi and Western Digital came out at the top Seagate, not so much. He was always stubborn and wanted drive letters.Įdited by rotor123, 26 December 2011 - 10:21 AM.Last year, cloud backup service Backblaze crunched statistics about which makes and models of the tens of thousands of drives humming away in its data centers held up best under stress. He would have been better of to use drive mappings such as \\WDTVLiveHub\2Tb_07-01-2011 or \\a or \\b AFAIK you still are limited to 26 drive letters. I had to break the news to him that no you can't use Drive CC: Under XP Pro. I actually knew someone that used up all the drive letters in his SOHO network. I tend to think that putting all that data on 1 partition.is risky business that doesn't have to be.Įven with a 3tb drive partitioned into 3 1Tb partitions they all have one common hardware point of failure in that if the drive dies it takes all three drive letters with it. I just really have to wonder.why any ordinary user/owner would want/trust that much data.on any partition larger than 2TB. The NAS drives and and other externals are IMO designed to run standing up in many instances so that the airflow cools the drive. Laptop drives AFAIK are limited to 1Tb currently. The drives based on laptop drives will run cooler simple because they are designed to use less power and generally run at 5400RPM not 7200RPM. You'll need USB 3 or eSATA externals if you want speed. But as far as heat, there's really nothing I can do about that afaik.Īctually those were all brands that I use as externals.įor Internals I use Intel SSDs, Samsung SSDs, Western digital & Seagate & Hitachi.Ī fantom for example you never know what brand drive they are putting inside the enclosure that day. 02 on which would last a decent amount.Īs for maintenance, I always place drives on their side and place them in such a way that they never move. So, yeah.before I take the plunge and buy a WD elements drive or a fantom g or something, I was hoping you guys could give me your. Because I'm crazy about this stuff, I might have on backup drive for every "active" drive. Since this is for a media center type deal, I'm going to need a drive that is going to put in some serious work. Although, I guess dpunisher is sort of indicating there's no real metric for quality. So I was hoping you guys could point me to the right external brands to buy. The only brand recommendations here were from rotor I think, and they were for internals to put into an enclosure right? I don't trust myself to pick out both a harddrive and an enclosure. I have a 2tb hdd that doesn't sound so good, so I want to salvage that data and have room to expand. Well I need a lot of drive space to run xbmc off my laptop and ideally a dedicated box in the future. Thanks for all the replies! Sorry I didn't check in sooner. When you buy, future proof yourself and get USB3 if you go for a USB drive.Įdited by rotor123, 24 December 2011 - 03:16 PM. I've also seen complaints that a running drive got knocked over and now it is dead, Gee what a surprise. A NAS drive uses Ethernet so a more robust connection than the mini USB port. One point of failure I've seen reported on externals is the USB connector. If I wanted to set it up and pay the fee I could also access over the internet. The low cost home NAS drives will be USB speed (Slow) however being able to access from every computer etc. They can be seen from every computer on the network and my media player and my BluRay player can play off of them too. I also run Seagate & Western Digital NAS drives attached to my home network.

most reliable external hard drives 2015

I have used them with XP but first I had to remove the GPT partition and create two 1.5Gb partitions and then they were fine. How many buyers bought them for a XP system and it didn't work because GPT isn't supported by XP, They will report bad drive.

MOST RELIABLE EXTERNAL HARD DRIVES 2015 WINDOWS 7

Maxtor, Western Digital, Hitachi, Seagate, Knock wood no problems yet.ģTb drives do need Windows 7 as they will be GPT not Fat or NTFS based. Based on my own experience having several of each brand.








Most reliable external hard drives 2015